It was a long night for those watching the results of the midterm elections. And though the major races were still not being called well into the night, Osceola county races were shaping up for quick results fairly early into the night.

On the major races for Senator and Governor, Tallahassee mayor Andrew Gillum conceded the Governor seat to former congressman Ron DeSantis just before midnight, while governor Rick Scott declared victory over incumbent Senator Bill Nelson shortly after the stroke of midnight, however, the race for Senator is within the recount margin and has now called for a recount.

In Osceola County results, the major races appeared opposite to the statewide results. Gillum led Osceola county 59% to DeSantis 38%, while Nelson received 58% of the vote to Scott’s 41%. Congressman Darren Soto easily sailed to re-election with an early victory over Wayne Liebnitzky.

The Kissimmee City Commissioner seat vacated by Wanda Rentas was won by Felix Ortiz, a local businessman who is new to the political scene, easily overtaking Andrew Jeng.

The City of St. Cloud saw the re-election of Dave Askew over Army vet Anthony Busby for the City Commissioner seat. Meanwhile, another newcomer to elected office – Keith Trace, easily won the race for the other contested city commissioner seat in St. Cloud over incumbent Don Shroyer.

Wanda Rentas, the incumbent Kissimmee commissioner lost the challenge for district 2 county commissioner seat to Viviana Janer, who was re-elected in a virtual landslide. Likewise, Cheryl Grieb fended off a challenge by Adam Michelin to retain her seat easily as District 4 County Commissioner.

Attorney Laura Shaffer prevailed big over Dean Mosley in both Orange and Osceola counties for the position of Circuit Court Judge. In Osceola County, she carried 63% of the votes.

Similarly to the Senate and Governor races, though Ashley Moody & Jimmy Patronis won the statewide races for Attorney General and Chief Financial Officer respectively, they lost Osceola county to their Democratic challengers Sean Shaw and Jeremy Ring. The statewide race for the Commissioner of Agriculture was surprisingly close with Matt Caldwell still holding onto a 17,216 vote lead on Wednesday morning. That didn’t stop Caldwell from declaring victory Tuesday night as he held a narrow advantage in the contest to succeed term-limited Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam. Nikki Fried has now released her intention to pursue a recount.

In the state races,  Josie Tomkow for State rRepresentative of District 39 won over challenger Ricky Shirah, while incumbent Mike LaRosa prevailed over political newcomer Barbara Cady for State House District 42.

Also victorious Tuesday night were:

Alan Lawson
Justice of the Supreme Court

Eric Eisnaugle
Fifth District Court of Appea

Jaqueline Henry
Soil and Water Conservation District Seat 1

Larry Allen Schneck
Soil and Water Conservation District Seat 3

Brenda J. Jennigs
Brighton Lakes Community Development District Seat 1

Nestor I. Olmo
Brighton Lakes Community Development District Seat 2

Marcial Rodriguez, Jr.
Brighton Lakes Community Development District Seat 3

Paul Collins Celebration Community Development Seat 2

Cliff Akey
Celebration Community Development Seat 4

Michael Scarborough
Harmony Community Development District Seat 2

Steve Berube
Harmony Community Development District Seat 4

Don Sgallata
Indian Point Common Facilities District Seat 3

Barabara J. Kirk
Remington Community Development District Seat 2

James Benson-Valdes
Remington Community Development District Seat 3

Here are the results for the Florida Amendments that were on the ballot:

No. 1 Constitutional Amendment Article VII, Section 6 Article XII, Section 37

Increased Homestead Property Tax Exemption


No. 2 Constitutional Amendment Article XII, Section 27

Limitations on Property Tax Assessments


No. 3 Constitutional Amendment Article X, Section 29

Voter Control of Gambling in Florida


No. 4 Constitutional Amendment Article VI, Section 4

Voting Restoration Amendment


No. 5 Constitutional Amendment Article VII, Section 19

Supermajority Vote Required to Impose, Authorize, or Raise State Taxes or Fees


No. 6 Constitutional Revision Article I, Section 16 Article V, Sections 8 and 21 Article XII, New Section

Rights of Crime Victims; Judges


No. 7 Constitutional Revision Article IX, Sections 7 and 8 Article X, New Section

First Responder and Military Member Survivor Benefits; Public Colleges and Universities


No. 9 Constitutional Revision Article II, Section 7 Article X, Section 20

Prohibits Offshore Oil and Gas Drilling; Prohibits Vaping in Enclosed Indoor Workplaces


No. 10 Constitutional Revision Article III, Section 3 Article IV, Sections 4 and 11 Article VIII, Sections 1 and 6

State and Local Government Structure and Operation


No. 11 Constitutional Revision Article I, Section 2 Article X, Sections 9 and 19

Property Rights; Removal of Obsolete Provision; Criminal Statutes


No. 12 Constitutional Revision Article II, Section 8 Article V, Section 13 Article XII, New Section

Lobbying and Abuse of Office by Public Officers


All in all, the election results were a mixed bag of new faces and experienced hands that will serve as representatives in various offices to constituents of Osceola county.

Photos of those candidates involved in recounts were not included in our main photo.