During Monday’s Osceola County Board of Commissioners meeting, Lloyd Phillips, who has spent countless hours making Osceola County a better place, was recognized as the Lt. Lloyd Burton, Jr. Service Award winner by Osceola County Commissioners. Osceola County Commissioner Viviana Janer made the presentation.

Much of Phillips’ efforts are through his work with the Caribbean and Florida Association, an Osceola County non-profit formed in 1990 to assist new arrivals to Central Florida, particularly those with Caribbean backgrounds.

CAFA focuses on helping those in need, while promoting cultural diversity and community involvement. Its members are involved in all aspects of the community – including annual events such as scholarships awards for high school students, a Thanksgiving turkey giveaway, Christmas baskets for residents of assisted living facilities and the Caribbean Fusion Festival, held annually at the Kissimmee Lakefront every April.

“Mr. Phillips’ leadership has been at the forefront of making Osceola County a better place for everyone since moving here in 1996,” said Osceola County Commission Vice Chairwoman Viviana Janer. “His contributions have helped residents — young and old — find happiness, well-being and opportunities to improve their lives.”

Phillips followed an older brother who came here in 1988. As a teenager, his parents moved the family to New York from Guyana. He credited his parents for his passion for public service. His father served in the “British Regiment” there and that service and his mother’s community work was passed on to him and his siblings.

“I’ve always believed in giving back to the community,” said Phillips. “As a family, we pride ourselves on helping folks to enjoy a better way of life.”

Phillips said he was particularly proud of CAFA’s efforts to help victims of disasters in the Bahamas, Puerto Rico and Haiti.

Past honorees include:

  • 2016: Lloyd Burton Jr.
  • 2017: Anna Pinellas
  • 2018: Eugenia Agard
  • 2019: Nelson Winbush
  • 2020: Belinda Johnson-Cornett
  • 2021: Deloris McMillon
  • 2022: Lloyd Phillips