Marcus Theriot of Poplarville, Miss., earned the All-Around Cowboy honors at the 144th Silver Spurs Rodeo last weekend.

Theriot, who cashed in steer wrestling, team roping and tie-down roping, won $3,307 for the all-around title, doubling his event winnings.

Among the other highlights, Brody Yeary (Morgan Mill, Texas) was the bull riding champion with an 83-point ride on Silver Spurs Club’s Chug-a-lug. It was one of only five paying qualifying rides, showing the toughness of Silver Spurs stock.

The other event champions:

Bareback riding, Logan Patterson, Kim, Colo., 89 points on Brookman Rodeo’s Smiling Bob;
Steer wrestling, Cody Miller, Morristown, Tenn., 3.5 seconds;
Team roping, Clint Summers and Douglas Rich, 4.9 seconds;
Saddle bronc, Chase Brooks, Deer Lodge, Mont., 86.5 points on Brookman Rodeo’s Freaking Fabulous;
Tie-down roping, Justin Smith, Leesville, La., 7.7 seconds;
Barrel racing, Brittany Dallaire, Morriston, Fla., 15.74 seconds.

Event champions took home between $2,500 and $5,600 for their wins.

Cowboys and cowgirls won an impressive $124,738 over the three-day rodeo.The area’s next big ridin’ and ropin’ event is the Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo, April 3-4 at the Silver Spurs Arena. The 12 regional winners of each rodeo event will come to Kissimmee looking for a PRCA title, cash and a voucher for a Ram tuck.