At the Osceola County School Board meeting on Tuesday, February 15, the Osceola County School Board voted to give $500 to teachers and eligible employees (excluding substitute employees) to be paid out before Spring Break 2022,  and an increase to the minimum wage for employees to $15 per hour effective in the next school year.

All ESP and Teamsters bargaining unit employees already making over $15.00 an hour will receive a $0.30 an hour recurring salary increase.  All non-bargaining support staff already making over $15 per hour will receive a 2% recurring salary increase.

The Osceola County School Board and Unions have already agreed to the following in addition for the 2022-2023 fiscal year:

  • Teachers – A non-recurring retention incentive supplement in the amount of $50 for each year of verified eligible experience will be paid to each instructional employee who has 10 or more years of verified eligible experience. Salary negotiations for the 2022-2023 school year for educators will resume if the Florida Legislature appropriates additional funds for the Teacher Salary Increase Allocation or other similar specific compensation for instructional employees and legislates related terms and conditions.
  • ESP & Teamsters Bargaining Unit Employees – These employees will receive a non-recurring supplement of $750.
  • Non-Bargaining Support Staff and Administrators – These employees will receive a non-recurring supplement of 3.5%.
“We recognize and support the amazing work of our dedicated educators and employees,” said School Board Chairwoman Terry Castillo.  “My fellow School Board members and I are proud of their continued dedication to our children and families.”