At a special meeting held on Monday, the City Council officially approved the list of candidates who will be on the ballot for this year’s City election. In alignment with recent changes to the City Charter, all candidates must have resided within the city limits for at least 12 months prior to the election’s qualifying date.

The Supervisor of Elections office is responsible for verifying the residency of each candidate, while the City Council ensures compliance with the 12-month residency requirement. This process aims to guarantee that all candidates are well-acquainted with the community they are hoping to represent.

This year, Seats 1, 2 and 3 are up for re-election. For Seat 1 (mayor), the candidates are Tony Busby, Chris Robertson and Adam Wagner. For Seat 2, the candidates are Phil Lantry, Jennifer A. Paul and Mandy Shafer. For Seat 3, incumbent Kolby S. Urban did not draw opposition; he will automatically retain the seat and will not appear on the ballot. City Council members are elected at-large for four-year terms.

The primary election will be held on August 20, with the general election on November 5.