The East Central Florida Regional Resilience Collaborative (ECFR2C)gathered 5 counties and 18 cities in the east-central Florida region to connect and sign a memorandum of understanding on Wednesday, October 23, 2019, at 1:00 p.m., to formalize their partnership and commitment to improving resilience with ECFR2C.

The resilience collaborative (ECFR2C) was formed in May 2019 by the East-Central Florida Regional Planning Council to address the increasing shocks and stressors – such as recent weather, natural and humanmade events – that impact east-central Florida’s people, places, and prosperity. Through the vision, exchange of information, and initiatives, the ECFR2C can provide new and enhanced regional approaches to amplify and build on current efforts, and increase adaptive capacities.

Florida’s first Chief Resilience Officer, Dr. Julia Nesheiwat, joined the celebration as a keynote speaker, speaking to the state’s commitment to resilience.

“This collaborative will allow us to come together and help build a resilient region. We are currently working to make an impact that will reduce the carbon footprint, strengthen our overall infrastructure, and improve our local economy. As a City, we work to improve the water quality, promote and create transit-oriented development within our downtown area, preserve green spaces in our community, build a connected trail system, and ensure that residents have access to affordable housing and quality jobs,” said Mayor Jose Alvarez.

Jose Alvarez

Mayor, City of Kissimmee

The ceremony took place on Wednesday, October 23, 2019, at 1:00 p.m. at the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council located at 455 N. Garland Avenue in the Lynx Administration Building.

For more information about the ECFR2C or the signing ceremony, please contact Jenifer Rupert of the East Central Regional Planning Council at 407-245-0300 extension 302 or send an email to