The 149th Silver Spurs Rodeo rode back into Kissimmee on June 3-4 and attracted the best of the best in professional rodeo, a new Miss Silver Spurs Court, and thousands of rodeo fans to the Silver Spurs Arena in Kissimmee.

On Thursday evening June 2, the Miss Silver Spurs organization held their 2022 Miss Silver Spurs Pageant, which crowned the 2022 Miss Silver Spurs and her court. The 2022 Miss Silver Spurs Court is:

Miss Silver Spurs & Congeniality: Raelynne Kempfer
Little Miss Silver Spurs: Tessa McCommon
Jr Miss Silver Spurs: Haidyn Dykes
Miss 1st Runner-Up: Savannah Thomas
Jr Miss 1st Runner-Up: Riley DeRosa
Jr Miss Congeniality: Grace Herb
Little Miss 1st Runner-Up & Congeniality: Paisley Chapman

Friday and Saturday featured all seven traditional rodeo events, mutton bustin’ (sheep riding), Pee Wee and Jr. Quadrilles (square dancing on horseback) and crowds that were more reminiscent of the Silver Spurs Riding Club’s large February crowds than their typical June crowds.

Both evenings opened by honoring local veteran heroes who had served the nation in the military, including local St. Cloud resident 101-year-old Navy Veteran Pat Rudd.
Here are the results for the 149th Silver Spurs Rodeo:

Steer wrestling: 1. (tie) Mose Fleming and Justin Thigpen, 5.1 seconds, $666 each; 3. Joshua Moore, 6.0, $381; 4. (tie) Steve Gladding and John Manson, 6.1, $95 each.

Team roping: 1. Spunk Sasser/Juan Alcazar Jr, 6.4 seconds, $538 each; 2. Travis Dorman/Ty Chancey, 11.7, $404; 3. Cody Gornto/Troy Weekley Jr., 13.1, $269; no other qualified runs.

Tie-down roping: 1. Justin Thigpen, 8.6 seconds, $611; 2. Bryan McClellan, 11.2, $458; 3. Tom Mangus, 12.4, $306; 4. Ben Mayworth, 13.5, $153.

Barrel racing: 1. Sarah Williams, 15.91 seconds, $575; 2. Wendy Culberson, 16.02, $500; 3. Bobbie Alcazar, 16.08, $425; 4. Lois Shelley, 16.20, $350; 5. Brandi Heath, 16.34, $275; 6. (tie) Layna Kight and Melissa O’Connor, 16.43, $163 each; 8. Dallas Sawczak, 16.44, $50.

Bull riding leaders: No qualified rides.

Total payoff: $10,013. Stock contractor: Silver Spurs Club. Timers: Mary Montsdeoca and Karen Pruitt. Announcer: Greg Simas. Bullfighters: Jake Geiger and Riley McKettrick. Clown/barrelman: Rob Gann. Flankman: George Kempfer. Chute boss: Scott Ramsey. Pickup men: Hunter Holley and Jake Anuez. Music director: Mark Evans. Photographers: Mike Rastelli and Jessie Burns.

The evening also featured the Silver Spurs Riding Club presenting donations to Osceola History and the Special Olympics.