Two teachers in the Osceola County School District are winners in Norwegian Cruise Line’s Fourth Annual Giving Joy Contest, NCL’s annual recognition program that has been celebrating teachers across America since 2019 for their hard work and relentless dedication.

Samantha Alfred from Narcoossee Middle School in St. Cloud, and Gabriela Colon a 4th grade teacher from Deerwood Elementary School in Kissimmee are among 20 winning educators who won a free seven-day voyage for two, for itineraries sailing through 2024 and embarking from the U.S. and Canada.

“On behalf of all of us at Norwegian Cruise Line, we congratulate this year’s winners and nominees who have gone above and beyond to demonstrate an unwavering commitment to their calling as educators, and in doing so have left a lasting positive impact on their students, schools and broader communities,” said David J. Herrera, President of Norwegian Cruise Line. “We look forward to welcoming this year’s winners aboard for a well-deserved cruise vacation.”

Inspired by Norwegian’s Giving Joy program and moved by the stories of the incredible teachers, this year, NCL’s beverage partner, Coca-Cola®, has donated roundtrip airfare from within the continental United States for each winner and their guest as they plan their vacation with NCL. Additionally, all 20 winning educators will be awarded with a complimentary virtual training session by the Guy Harvey Foundation (GHF) to explore their K-12 education resources using Dr. Harvey’s captivating marine art as an anchor. This exploration will incorporate a unique blend of science and art, allowing educators to dive into the wonders of the ocean, and help foster the next era of marine conservationists.

In addition, the top three grand prize winners are invited to attend the exclusive four-day christening voyage for Norwegian Viva, the second ship in the Brand’s all-new Prima Class, debuting August 2023.


 Norwegian’s 2023 Giving Joy contest drew support for over 3,400 teachers across the U.S. and Canada and garnered over hundreds of thousands of votes with winners from California, Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio, Puerto Rico, Tennessee, Virginia, and Washington.