Dr. Debra Pace has been making her annual “rounds” throughout the district, announcing and surprising, the top ten finalists for teacher of the year, and school-related employee of the year.
The field of nominees for Osceola School District’s Teacher of the Year and School-Related Employee of the Year has been narrowed down to the top ten finalists in both categories, after each school selected their own teacher and school-related employee of year, earlier in late 2022.
The following educators have been named as the top ten finalists for Teacher of the Year:
  • Jackelyn Adkins – Tohopekaliga High – 2D Studio Art Instructor
  • Elizabeth Bullock – Partin Settlement Elementary – 3rd Grade Teacher
  • Kayra Burdette – Mill Creek Elementary – 4th Grade Teacher
  • Jacqueline Hinds – Horizon Middle – Literacy Coach
  • Milagros Mercado – Canoe Creek K-8 – 2nd Grade Teacher
  • Tiffany Perry – East Lake Elementary -5th Grade Teacher
  • Jeremiah Swartz – Gateway High – Math Coach
  • Geoffrey VonRentzell – NeoCity Academy – Digital Multimedia Teacher
  • Elizabeth Weretka – Westside K-8 – 4th Grade Teacher
  • Laura Winstanley – St. Cloud Middle – Varying Exceptionality Teacher

The following employees have been named as the top ten finalists for School-Related Employee of the Year:

  • Claudia Guzman – Special Programs – Family Resource Specialist
  • David Maxwell – Chestnut Elementary School for Science and Engineering – Paraprofessional
  • Nicholas Montalbano – School Operations – Foreman
  • Bianca Morales – Business and Finance – Payroll Business Analyst
  • Kelly Mott – Narcoossee Middle – Executive Secretary
  • Janae Muchmore – Community Relations – Social Media & Digital Storyteller
  • Melvin Rivera – Harmony Middle – IT Tech
  • Tanya Snellings – Educational Choices and Innovation – Charter Schools Compliance Specialist
  • LaShanna Ward – St. Cloud Middle – Dean’s Secretary
  • Francis “Dale” Wheeler – Student Services – Judicial Liaison

Judges selected the finalists based on their applications.  The name of the district’s Teacher of the Year and School-Related Employee of the Year will be announced at the district’s annual Education Awards ceremony to be held on March 9, 2023, at Osceola Heritage Park.