The Central Florida Expressway Authority  will be expanding its already large regional network to include Brevard County under House Bill 299 signed into law recently by Gov. Rick Scott. HB 299 makes Brevard County a member of CFX’s Governing Board effective July 1, 2017 joining Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole counties, and the City of Orlando.

The chair of the Brevard County Board of County Commissioners has appointed County Commissioner Jim Barfield to the CFX Board as its 10th member.

Sponsored by Rep. Tom Goodson (R-Cocoa) and Sen. Debbie Mayfield (R-Vero Beach), this expansion enhances the agency’s mission to build and maintain a mobility network that meets the needs of the growing Central Florida region.