Political newcomer Shawn Fletcher netted the most votes for St. Cloud City Council Seat 5 in Tuesday’s primary election with 2,728 (36.75%) over Jeffrey Rivera 1,682 votes (22.66%), Stephanie Chmielewski 1,521 votes (20.49%), and Chris Ladas Drake with 1,492 votes (20.10%). Fletcher and Rivera will fight on as voters in November decide who sits behind St. Cloud’s dias in Seat 5. Seat 5 is currently held by Keith Trace, who decided not to run for reelection.

“I’m so incredibly moved by the amount of support I’ve received over the course of the campaign. I want to thank my family, friends, and everyone who has put their trust in me to be your voice. We couldn’t have done it without your support. WE WILL make a difference in the community we all love so much,” Shawn Fletcher said after qualifying for the November runoff with Jeffrey Rivera.

Voters will begin hearing more from Ken Gilbert and Tom Lord, who are both running for St. Cloud Council Seat 4, currently held by David Askew.