The Central Florida Expressway Authority has announced the appointment of Osceola County Commissioner Brandon Arrington to CFX’s Governing Board.

Arrington, who represents Osceola County’s District 3, replaces fellow Commissioner Fred Hawkins Jr. as Osceola’s representative to CFX’s 10-member Board and will serve until June 19, 2020. Arrington officially joins the Board at its November 14 meeting at CFX Headquarters.

“I’m looking forward to working with Board members and CFX staff on transportation issues impacting our region,” said Arrington, who was appointed to the seat by unanimous vote during the Osceola County Commission meeting on Monday, October 14. “With CFX playing an increasing role in Osceola’s transportation planning, it’s an exciting time to be part of this organization.”

Hawkins is an original member of CFX’s Board, joining it in 2014 when the agency was created. He served as Board Chairman in 2018. He has been an Osceola County Commission member, representing District 5, since 2008 and served as commission chair in 2010, 2014 and 2017.

“My time on the CFX Board was tremendously rewarding. I learned so much about Central Florida’s transportation needs and what CFX does to deliver transportation solutions to our community,” said Hawkins, “CFX has accomplished so much in such short time which is remarkable – I’m excited to watch Commissioner Arrington use his passion for transportation to build upon these accomplishments and deliver new mobility solutions for our region.”

CFX’s Governing Board is made up of county commission members from Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole, the mayors of Orange County and Orlando, and three governor’s appointees.