Members of the Special Olympics made a very special presentation Wednesday during the annual Osceola County Legislative Delegation meeting held in the Osceola County Commission Chambers.

The 2022 Special Olympics USA Games will feature 4,000 athletes, 10,000 volunteers, and 125,000 fans, all of whom will unite in Osceola County and Central Florida to participate in one of the country’s most cherished sporting events.

In attendance in the Legislative Delegation meeting at the dias were Senator Victor Torres, Representative Josie Tomkow, Representative Kristen Arrington, and Representative Fred Hawkins.

The following spoke during the Legislative Delegation meeting

  • City of Saint Cloud (Mayor Nathan Blackwell, City Manager Bill Sturgeon)
  • City of Kissimmee (Mayor Olga Gonzalez, City Manager Mike Steigerwald)
  • Osceola County
  • Osceola County School Board (Terry Castillo, Board Member District 1)



  • Osceola County Sheriff, Marco Lopez
  • Osceola County Supervisor of Elections, Mary Jane Arrington


  •  Chief Judge, Ninth Judicial Circuit Court



  • Catherine McManus, Habitat Orlando
  •  Marie Martinez, Orlando Health
  •  Paul Owens, 100 Friends of Florida
  •  John Newstreet, President, Kissimmee/Osceola County Chamber of Commerce
  •  Mary Downey, CEO/Founder The Hope Partnership
  •  Joe Durso, VP of Public Affairs, Embrace Families
  •  Kathleen Plinske, President, Valencia College
  •  Macy Billa, Constituent
  •  Fred Kittinger, UCF
  •  Sherry Wheelock, CEO, Special Olympics Unified Champions Schools Program
  •  Jose Alvarez, Public Policy Chair, Osceola County Assoc. of Realtors
  •  Mike Trepper, Director, Prodigy Cultural Arts
  •  Beverly Sanders, Poinciana Homeowner
  •  Sabrina Davis, Certified Medical Assistant
  •  Christy Lacy, LPN
  •  Manuel Herenandez, English Language Arts Teacher
  •  Linda Coffin, Moms Demand Action
  •  DeBora Kroger, Alzheimer’s Association Volunteer Advocate
  •  John Lux, Executive Director, Film Florida
  •  Daniel Marquith, Executive Director MADD
  •  Frank Sowers, Constituent